Vindicated.

Image

 

My husband’s birthday was last week, and his absolute favorite dessert is apple pie. So in an attempt to win the “best wife of the year award” I decided to try one of Paula Deen’s recipes. (found here, apple cinnamon roll cupcakes) I usually do pretty well with baking and cooking, but for some reason this recipe was a complete and total FAILURE. (I think my yeast was expired)

Flash forward a few days: I had planned a big surprise party for him, and invited our friends over to our humble abode for my non-existent tasty creation. So there I was, a few hours before the big surprise depressed, tired of baking, and ready to give up. So I did. I ended up buying HEB cupcakes, which were actually pretty good. I told my husband about my dilemma after the fact, and he completely understood. We were even able to laugh about it.

But something inside of me just wasn’t content with letting the hub’s birthday pass without a special treat. Fortunately, the next day I had a magical idea pop into my head (probably because I kept thinking about the failed recipe over and over agin). I decided to create my own “apple cinnamon roll cupcakes” using only 3 ingredients. (plus a homeade icing recipe)

I already had a box of Betty Crocker’s cinnamon streusel muffin mix that I couldn’t wait to try, and I decided to just add a can of Lucky Leaf apples to that. The outcome was so amazingly good!

Image

 

Image

 

The hubs LOVED them, and I was vindicated! :) 

Here’s the recipe:

  • Empty one 21 oz. can of Lucky Leaf apples and cut them into bite sized pieces and place them in a bowl
  • Add 1 tsp of apple pie spice to the apples
  • Mix the muffin mix as instructed on the box and add the apple mixture to that
  • Sprinkle the included streusel on top of the muffins in the cupcake pan
  • Bake according to the instructions on the box
  • Let cool and add icing if you wish

Optional Icing

For the icing I just used powdered sugar and milk. I mixed powdered sugar with about 1 Tbs of milk. I kept adding the sugar until the icing was a consistency that I liked.

I’m so glad that I was able to make these for Keith, and I’m even more glad that he liked them. He even shared some with his coworkers the next day, and they loved them too! 

I hope you like it as well! Enjoy! :)

Leave a comment